APIG Kennedys Frank Earl Award

The APIG Kennedys Frank Earl Award is conferred on an individual who demonstrates excellence in the professional lines sector of the insurance industry and personifies the values synonymous with Frank Earl: HONESTY, INTEGRITY and TRANSPARENCY.

Applications open for 2018 Award

Submissions for the 2018 APIG Kennedys Frank Earl Award will be open from Monday 28 May to 11 August 2018.

Download Application Forms

Nominations must be accompanied by a short statement and resume outlining why the nominee should be considered for the award.

The winner will be announced at the 2018 APIG National Conference Gala Dinner on 6 September 2018.

Frank Earl Award Nomination Criteria

The award is named for Frank Earl who was one of Australia’s most highly regarded insurance brokers. It was established in 2010 and is presented biennially at the APIG National Conference.

Frank Earl personified HONESTY, INTEGRITY and TRANSPARENCY in his exemplary career. He considered these to be core characteristics fundamental not only to individual success but also to the industry as a whole.

The core criteria for evaluation of nominees will be their ability to show how they conduct themselves in their day-to-day work and more broadly as a participant in the industry in a manner which consistently reflects Frank Earl’s three core values.

Nominees' overall professionalism in their service to the industry, including leadership, innovation and creativity, and commitment to continued professional development, further education and mentorship are all be considered.


Any participant in the professional lines sector of the insurance industry who is a current member of APIG can make a nomination or be nominated for the award. This includes underwriters, brokers and claims personnel, from insurers and reinsurers, as well as consultants, advisers and lawyers, among others.

There are no restrictions on age, role or years of experience.

Nominations made by third parties will remain anonymous and self-nomination is permitted.


All nominees will be contacted by APIG and asked to confirm their agreement to be considered for the Award. Submissions will then be assessed by an evaluation committee whose members include:

  • APIG Kennedys Frank Earl Award Chair
  • APIG National President
  • Presidents of each of the APIG State Committees
  • APIG National Secretary
  • APIG National Conference Committee Chair
  • Kennedys representative

Award details

The winner of the APIG Kennedys Frank Earl Award will receive:

  • Frank Earl Award perpetual trophy
  • Financial support up to a value of A$6,000 to attend the 2018 Professional Liability Underwriting Society (PLUS) conference in San Diego, including registration, travel and accommodation.

Previous winners

Jane Pochon – 2016
Ewen McKay – 2013
Robert Beaton – 2011


APIG wishes to thank Kennedys for its generous support of the Frank Earl Award.